Voted the Best Place to See by Condé Nast Traveler.


As the nonprofit organization tasked with stewardship, research and interpretation of this irreplaceable site, Drayton Hall Preservation Trust holds a significant responsibility. We are the intermediaries between artifact and student, estate and visitor, past and present.

For more than 250 years, Drayton Hall has stood witness to the American South. Among the best and most complete examples of Southern colonial life open to the public today, the property holds a vital educational responsibility. It is also an active archaeological site with an extensive museum collection of rare 18th- and 19th-century objects and artifacts.


Drayton Hall Preservation Trust fosters a deeper understanding of colonial America and the evolution of life in the South by discovering, researching, conserving, and interpreting the history, context, and culture of Drayton Hall.

The Drayton Hall Preservation Trust is a privately funded nonprofit organization responsible for the operation and administration of Drayton Hall, a National Trust for Historic Preservation site. The National Trust for Historic Preservation protects significant places representing our diverse cultural experience by taking direct action and inspiring broad public support. For more information on the mission and sites of the National Trust, visit


Chair William B. Bodine

Vice Chair Marilynn Wood Hill

Vice Chair Thomas W.  Rash Jr.

Treasurer H. Montague Osteen Jr.

Secretary Elizabeth Halstead

Nathan Berry

Catherine Brown Braxton

Dirk Brown

John T. Cahill

Frank B. Drayton Jr.

Omar Eaton-Martinez

Shannon C. Eaves

Debra Gammons

Cynthia Kellogg

Kristopher B. King

Benjamin F. Lenhardt Jr.

Fulton D.  Lewis Jr.

Matthew Cochrane-Logan

Vanessa Turner Maybank

Peter McCoy

Margaret Beck Pritchard

Henry B. Smythe Jr.

Sheila Wertimer

Anthony C. Wood


W. Hampton Morris

Michael B. Prevost

To contact the Staff of the Drayton Hall Preservation Trust, please click on the names below or call our main number at (843) 769-2600 during regular business hours and an operator will direct your call.


Carter C. Hudgins, Ph.D.


Michelle S. Tyler


Paula Marion

FINANCE Coordinator

Michelle Johanek


Halley Cella Erickson, Director of Philanthropy

Lela Solomon, Advancement Manager

Molly Leonard, Leadership Giving Manager


Patty B. Sailer, Communications and Marketing


Amber Satterthwaite,  Curator of Education and Museum Programs

Historical Interpreters:  William Dowd, Rosemary Giesy,  Mason Lamb,  Betsy McAmis, Veronica Pieretti, WJ Queen, Thomas Rogers, Victoria Steagall, Florence Steele, Makayla Stitt, Matthew Trujillo,


Luke J. Pecoraro, PhD RPA, Director of Archaeology and Collections

Nicole Houck, Staff Archaeologist


Patricia Lowe Smith, Director of Preservation and Archives

Will Young, Preservation Associate

Facilities and Landscapes

Jeff McNeely, Director of Facilities and Landscapes

Kaley Cavanaugh, Landscape and Horticulture Technician

Ben Kiester, Landscape and Horticulture Technician

Hunter Ranly, Landscape and Horticulture Technician


Kate Ludwig, Director of Retail and Admissions

Emily Hendrix, Event and Specialty Sales Manager 

Guest Services Associates:  Brian DiGennaro, Katie Gardner, Mary Marsh, Marilee Mohr, Donna Seymour

To contact the Staff of the Drayton Hall Preservation Trust, please call our main number at (843) 769-2600 during regular business hours and an operator will direct your call.